5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Air Box Filter Silencer

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2000, 01:00 PM

I think that the silencer you guys are talking about is a big white box under the batery base that is connected with an L shape elbow to front section of the air box. I suggest to ask the service Mgr about it.
Old 12-24-2000, 01:44 PM
PRINCE NISMO

I saw that White Box also, when I put in my aftermarket intake and thought about removing it...you know to save weight but decided to leave it in for warranty reasons and a good thing I did 2 weeks later an (02) sensor went bad and I had to put the stock air box back in so nothing would look altered and so I would'nt have any problems at the dealer.

Old 12-24-2000, 01:54 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

You may be right, Pepo . . .

I'm no mechanic, but I can't figure out what that white box would be for other than to act as a silencer. My only concern in disconnecting it and leaving the elbow in place would be possible water intake. If that's a concern, I suppose you could remove the box and cap the elbow. I wonder what effect that would have on the sound of the intake?
Old 12-25-2000, 09:46 AM
Rice Boy in Denial =)

The PR CAI instruction states that the white box is the silencer.
Old 12-25-2000, 02:53 PM

Re: You may be right, Pepo . (Air Box Silencer)