5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

I got pulled over tonight

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2000, 10:44 PM

Christmas eve, i'm driving home from my girlfriends house and its 11:15...i see this mercedes that was speeding some so i decide that i'll see if this guy wants to race...well, he didn't, but the light in front of us was red so i pulled from the right lane (which had a car already waiting at the stoplight) into the far left lane which had no cars...about 20ft. before i get to the crosswalk, i look in my rearview mirror and what do i see? those friendly blue and red lights. I turn left at that light and go into a shopping center parking lot. I have a radar detector (which i always detach and unplug when i get pulled over...makes the cop think you speed all the time) and it didn't go off so i know he didn't radar me...i am a pretty alert driver so i know he wasn't tailing me to get my speed so i pull in there thinking that he can't get me on anything. So he comes upto the window and asks for license, reg, insurance and i give it all to him...he then asks if i know why he pulled me over. i said i think i was speeding a little and i made a mistake etc. etc. etc. he asked how fast i thought i was going and i said about 50-55...he then asks what the speed limit was and i told him 45...he said that was the part of the road that started the residential section so it was a 40mph speed limit. He finds out my info...where i was, where i was going etc. etc. he then tells me that he was doing at least 90 to keep up w/ me and he thought i was going about 70. he keeps mentioning how he *could* arrest me for criminal speeding. He proceeds to take my license back and make me wait there w/ my window down in the arizona cold (hah) for about 10 minutes. As he is walking back to his car, one of his cop buddies pulls up next to him in a marked car (his was unmarked) and starts putting his siren o