5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

very notchy from 2nd to 3rd on 6 speed

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2002, 07:42 AM

very notchy from 2nd to 3rd on 6 speed

I am wondering if others have had this same problem on a 6-speed manual SE. The shifter is VERY notchy going from 2nd to 3rd gear. It even grinds a little like I am not pushing the clutch down all the way (but I am). I have been driving manual trans cars for the last 17 years and I know this isn't normal. I have about 8K miles on the car now and it seems to be getting worse not better.

Anyone else have the same problem and/or know what I need to have Nissan fix when it goes in next? They don't seem to good at diagnostics and only repair stuff when I tell them what is broken. Hmmm....
Old 11-04-2002, 08:03 AM
Doctorate in Detailing

Not sure why it seems to be getting worse...Mine was very notchy, and I thought something was wrong but it is getting smoother the longer I have the car. I've got only 3200 miles on mine, and it is a lot smoother than when I first got it. Man, I hope it doesn't get worse.

Did yours seem smoother at any time since you've owned it?
Old 11-04-2002, 08:44 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Re: very notchy from 2nd to 3rd on 6 speed

Originally posted by carguyrob
I am wondering if others have had this same problem on a 6-speed manual SE. The shifter is VERY notchy going from 2nd to 3rd gear. It even grinds a little like I am not pushing the clutch down all the way (but I am). I have been driving manual trans cars for the last 17 years and I know this isn't normal. I have about 8K miles on the car now and it seems to be getting worse not better.

Anyone else have the same problem and/or know what I need to have Nissan fix when it goes in next? They don't seem to good at diagnostics and only repair stuff when I tell them what is broken. Hmmm....