5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Body Kit and painting

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2003, 10:11 AM
BiggD23

Body Kit and painting

What's up all?! I'm new to maxima.org...just bought a 2000 Maxima SE. I've spent the past few days drooling over pictures and posts just looking at things that I eventually want to do to the car. Here's the question...I know that I want to put the Stillen body kit on. Would everyone recommend painting just the kit or getting the entire car repainted when the kit is put on? My car is white if that makes a difference. Anyone have any experience and advice? Thanks!

Old 03-06-2003, 12:38 PM

Re: Body Kit and painting

Originally posted by BiggD23
What's up all?! I'm new to maxima.org...just bought a 2000 Maxima SE. I've spent the past few days drooling over pictures and posts just looking at things that I eventually want to do to the car. Here's the question...I know that I want to put the Stillen body kit on. Would everyone recommend painting just the kit or getting the entire car repainted when the kit is put on? My car is white if that makes a difference. Anyone have any experience and advice? Thanks!
hey mann, welcome to the org.....since the kit is just lips, it wouldnt really make sense to paint the whole car so just have the lips painted...
but may you be forewarned, maxima white is the hardest paint to match, you can check my homepage, i had a stillen touring kit and although it was really close, the paint didnt match 100%...if you look at any WHITE max w/ aftermarket kit, the paint usually doesnt match, if it does, lucky him/her
holla
Old 03-06-2003, 12:40 PM

Re: Re: Body Kit and painting

I have also heard nightmares about the kits being warped. Proper install/painting is not cheap either.
Old 03-06-2003, 01:02 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member