5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Could someone involved in an auto-accident pls chime in?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2003, 10:28 AM
Very sound, Mike

Could someone involved in an auto-accident pls chime in?

I just spoke to a lawyer and he requested that i start a claim with my insurance company to get an adjuster to look at my car and take care of whatever is needed to get it back in shape/etc.

His thing was, that it would then be my insurance company that will ask for reimbursement for expenses from the offending party's insurance company.

I thought this was rather odd, but then again i'm no expert. So to people who've been in similar cases as mine - is this normal and/or widely accepted practice?

My concern is if i file a claim, my premiums might go up and etc. - Even though my insurance company may get reimbursed for their expenses.
Old 06-11-2003, 10:32 AM
I'm needing a caw

Why are you even involving your insurance company? It was the other's guy's fault right? You review the links I gave you?

Handle everything though THEIR insurance company. If you start having problems, then talk to your insurance company.
Old 06-11-2003, 10:32 AM
Member who somehow became The President of The SE-L Club

Re: Could someone involved in an auto-accident pls chime in?

Originally posted by soundmike
His thing was, that it would then be my insurance company that will ask for reimbursement for expenses from the offending party's insurance company.

If the other party was at fault, then yes, thats how it works.

Your rates will not go up if it's not your fault.
Old 06-11-2003, 10:34 AM