5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

World's fastest MAF failure

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2003, 11:44 PM

World's fastest MAF failure

My Frankencar intake arrived yesterday morning. I installed it right away with no problems and the car ran fine all day. Then at night it suddenly died on the road, no heavy acceleration or anything. My friend and I pushed it into a parking lot and tried to troubleshoot. The car would start, run for a couple seconds, then sputter out. I remembered reading about 2k2 maf failures on the org before, so I disconnected the electrical connector to the maf. Lucky for me, the Maxima started and I was able to limp home.
Now, I'm a poor college student without a reliable vehicle right now. I need to know a few things from you guys.
1. If I reinstall the oem airbox, will I likely be able to get the maf replaced for free? I am still under warrenty.
2. If the dealer says no, how much will it cost to replace the maf?
3. Is there any cheaper, alternate source to get a maf sensor than my local dealership?
It really sucks when your first mod blows up in your face like this. Any advice will be appreciated.
Old 06-30-2003, 11:46 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

do number one..once they replace it..mention TSB about computer reprogramming.
Old 06-30-2003, 11:47 PM
Got Projectors?

Return everything back to stock and take it to the dealer...Play dumb about the failure and they should replace the MAF under warranty.
Old 07-01-2003, 01:04 AM

see that is why we got shietty service... when we try to deceive the nissan dealer, we get sheitty service... But oh well... do what u got to...

me personally, i messed with it, but left it stock... at least with the stock air box, i dont' get any MAF failure or SES light...

when i go to a car show, i just pop the intake back on...
Old 07-01-2003, 04:17 AM
Blu
the tits