5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Raybestos all around. Is there a need for a "how to"?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2004, 07:20 AM

Raybestos all around. Is there a need for a "how to"?

I'm in the process of getting things together to swap out all of the rotors for Raybestos rotors and ceramic brake pads. (Front rotors are on order).

Has there been any sort of need for a 'how-to' on this? I can take pictures and do a little write up as I go.

If someone has already done one, I don't want to re-invent the wheel. I've done brakes and rotors on all of my other vehicles, and have heard that maximas are one of the easiest to do, so there may not even be a need for one.

Just wanted to see if I can make a contribution. I'm still a maxima newbie, but I'm jumping in with both feet.
Old 04-13-2004, 10:18 AM
scopium

just a fyi .. the rear raybestos brake pads wont fit the rear brakes of the maxima... i dont know why..but it wont fit.

Old 04-13-2004, 10:45 AM
Old Fuddy Duddy

Originally Posted by scopium
just a fyi .. the rear raybestos brake pads wont fit the rear brakes of the maxima... i dont know why..but it wont fit.
DaveB informed me that around 01, they changed the design of the backplate on the rear calipers. So if you have an 01, depending on the BUILD date of the care you might need to get the pads from 00.

Best way to do it is to pull one caliper/pads and see if it has regtangle ears on the pad...if so you need the 00 pads...otherwise if its a smoother ear (no rectagle top) you need the 01 pads.

I have an 01 built in late 00 and it needed the old pads.

Good luck!
Old 04-13-2004, 10:53 AM

Yes, do one!

There is a how-to that is done on a 4th gen, and just the front. I would love to see a how-to on both front and back....and on a 5th gen! Do it, someone will need it.
Old 04-13-2004, 11:17 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member