5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Hi newbie here and got a problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2004, 07:11 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Hi newbie with a problem - electric servo running after engine off

I've got a 2000 Maxima. Been a pretty trouble free car until now. After I turn the engine off, some sort of servo motor or something keeps running after the engine is off. I've isolated the problem by removing the "engine cont 2" fuse on the right hand side fuse box. Otherwise, it just keeps running even though the key is out of the ignition!!! When underneath the car, the electric moter noise seems to be coming up near the tranny area????? strange......
Old 04-30-2004, 07:18 PM
Cletus

its normal. mine does it.
i cant remember what it is, something to do with fuel purging i think
Old 04-30-2004, 07:20 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by soonerfan
its normal. mine does it.
i cant remember what it is, something to do with fuel purging i think

Its just keeps running and running - it did for one hour unitl I pulled the fuse. I've owned it since new and it has never done that before
Old 04-30-2004, 08:13 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Take it to the dealer.
Old 04-30-2004, 08:23 PM

I just searched thru FSM and did could not find what specifically that fuse controls.

I'll secon SE01 - take it to the dealer, at least they will tell you what it is and maybe you can fix it yourself.
Old 05-01-2004, 04:21 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Yup - thanks - I always try to get enough information as I can before I make that decision. I'm going this morning.
Old 05-01-2004, 05:21 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by Panoscopic