5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Stalls while Idleing

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2004, 09:30 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Stalls while Idleing

I have (actually my wife has) a 2000 Maxima. As of about a month ago, the car has started stalling when it idles....at stop lights, etc. Doesn't seem to be any problems when driving at normal speeds on the highway or anything.

I'm no mechanic by any means, but it seems like a fuel filter/fuel pump problem? Somebody I talked to suggested changing the fuel filter, but according to the research I've done...seems it's no easy task for somebody not mechanically inclined.

Before I take it to the mechanic and get raped, I figured I'd try getting advice here.

Anybody ideas?

Thanks,
Erik
Old 09-09-2004, 09:51 AM

hmm, I would try checking the air filter, pcv valve, and if replacing them doesnt work(if needed), then replace the vacuum lines. after that I wouldn't know where to go. you might also consider cleaning your throttle body.

when was the last time you had a tune up?
Old 09-09-2004, 11:41 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Well...last time it had service, besides an oil change, was I think at 30,000, whatever the first dealer recommended service was...I can't remember. Cars got 58,000 miles on it now. So that was probably 2 years ago.

Besides the air filter, are those other things you mentioned pretty easy to do if I had the manual or something? I can change an air filter...the oil, and I've done brakes before on my old Honda Civic. But thats about the extent of my auto mechanic abilities so far.
Old 09-09-2004, 01:10 PM