5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Advice on lowering a SE Max

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2004, 12:09 PM

Advice on lowering a SE Max

Lately I have been thinking about lowering my stock SE max. I am starting to get tierd of the 4x4 look. But I am new to this, and dont know much about lowering cars. Would it be ok to use my stock struts and just get some new springs to lower it. I just want to lower the car a little but, not much, be still have a fairly comfortable ride. Any suggestions. How much am i looking at to do this? Buy the way I have stock 17"SE rims. Thanks for any input.
Old 12-08-2004, 12:11 PM

buy new springs/struts

struts - tokico illumina's
springs - I have tein H-Techs, can't really tell you about any others but there are a lot to choose from.
Old 12-08-2004, 12:23 PM

Check out this site - very useful info:

http://www.innerbean.com/housecor/sp..._decision.html
Old 12-08-2004, 12:24 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Check out http://www.innerbean.com/housecor/sp..._decision.html for information on different brand springs. But you definitely want to replace the shocks when you lower your max. The OEM shocks are to soft for the stiffer springs that you will install when lowering your max. Depending on how stiff the springs are, you may end up with a bouncy ride (shocks not dampening the springs) and even blown shocks. The consensus is to get tokico illuminas for this. The dampening is adjustable for this.

If you are willing to spend the extra money, you may want to consider coilovers. The spring and shock is matched for each other. You can also adjust the amount of drop with them while maintaining full suspension travel.
Old 12-08-2004, 03:00 PM