5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Couple of questions...

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2001, 07:12 AM

Newbie here. Be easy on me...

1300 miles so far, still testing how far you can push the car. Fun, fun, fun!

A couple of questions though.

The horn/airbag in my steering wheel column is a little loose. You can rattle the thing in it's housing. Tell me this isn't normal.

I've read here someplace that the service manuals are worth the money. True? I'm mainly interested in the CD-ROM version. What format do they come in? PDF? Can I only print out the pages I need, or do I have to take the laptop out with me to the garage?

I found the owner's manual in PDF format on Nissan's site, but I can no longer find the links. Very useful. Good thing I saved a copy.

Why in the world did nissan use white plastic for their moulding and bumpers when my car is grey? (Pontiac (GM?) uses black plastic.) While I'm sure you guys with light colored cars appreciate their choice, it's a ***** for me... (Touch up paint. $2.99 a bottle.)

I checked my tire pressures when I got the car, and the dealer pumped 'em up to 44lbs. I've seen other places recommending this as well. What's with this trend of pumping tires up to max? (36/36 seems to be working well for me...)
Old 05-11-2001, 07:25 AM
Rice Boy in Denial =)

Originally posted by KaxMaxSEAE
Newbie here. Be easy on me...

Ooooo... fresh meat. j/k Welcome!

1300 miles so far, still testing how far you can push the car. Fun, fun, fun!

A couple of questions though.

The horn/airbag in my steering wheel column is a little loose. You can rattle the thing in it's housing. Tell me this isn't normal.

I don't know if that's normal. Maybe someone can answer that.