5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Are Nissan Maximas......Crappy?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2000, 09:11 PM

I am new to the new car thing and I thought I was buying a reliable car!! It is the top model for Nissan. All I keep hearing on these messages are the problems everyone is having. When I first bought my car I had a problem too. If I didn't warm up my car in the morning, driving at 2000 rpm's in second gear, my car would jerk so hard when I would try to accelerate slowly. Scary. I took it to the dealership and they told me nothing was wrong with the ECU. I got the Stillen intake on my car and the dealership wouldn't touch it. Also told me the car won't pass smog with the intake. Then after my Y pipe goes in, my car dies again for awhile until I turned it off. Turned it on and it is fine. Plus that first problem I had went away after about 8000 miles. ARE NISSANS BAD CARS? I bought Japanese to get away from all the problems of Crappy American Cars

Old 10-30-2000, 09:20 PM

well keep in mind, "no news is good news" the car isn't crappy. its' awesome. but all cars have flaws. as long as u don't drive a jag you are fine. adn that is a expensive crappy car
Old 10-30-2000, 09:33 PM
TommyBoiSxty9

Actually in the last 5-10 years Jag has stepped up and became a world class car company there cars are now as reliable as any Lexus or Mercedes

Old 10-30-2000, 09:46 PM

I guess you are right but you guys are still scaring me with all the problems I am reading about.

Old 10-30-2000, 09:52 PM
MiniE

I love the Maxima. Many cars are great cars these days and it is hard to make a BAD choice. I think how you feel about a car and how it makes you feel when you drive it is the key.

I drove Lexus cars over the last 3 years. I had 2 RX300's 2 ES300's and a GS400 (I worked for the corporation). All were nice cars, but none of them made me feel like the Max does!