5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Diesal fuel in my engine!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2010, 09:28 PM

Diesal fuel in my engine!!!

yeh im dumb, i kno, so i put 4 gallons of diesal fuel into my engine when it was on empty, i started it and went down the road for about 30 seconds and it died. what do you guys suggest i do?
Old 07-03-2010, 09:36 PM

I'm not a mechanic, but that sounds like an expensive mistake.
Old 07-03-2010, 09:37 PM

Originally Posted by carrottop
yeh im dumb, i kno, so i put 4 gallons of diesal fuel into my engine when it was on empty, i started it and went down the road for about 30 seconds and it died. what do you guys suggest i do?
Ok, where to start...

Drop the tank, get it cleaned. replace ALL of the rubber hoses from tank to the fuel rails. Pull and flush the fuel rails. Replace any components from tank to fuel rails. Replace your fuel injectors. Pull you spark plugs - get a vacuum and a custom hose - suction out all of the cylinders.

Once you have all of that done - your engine should be able to start - it may run rough for a bit if you have any diesel left in the system, put some 104+ octane in a 1/2 tank of fuel and run it out.

You may want to SeaFoam your Maxima too.
Old 07-03-2010, 09:46 PM

you might be able to just drain the tank and refill with gas. there should be an attachment near the fuel rail to depressurize the fuel system, drain it from there.

consult a mechanic.
Old 07-03-2010, 10:16 PM

How?

At least where I live, the pumps are different sizes and you can't do it... It's possible, if you try to put the nozzle in, realize it doesn't fit, but squeeze the trigger anyways. Other than that it's not possible.
Old 07-03-2010, 10:41 PM

Originally Posted by CraigSE
How?