5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Never Ending Misfiring...

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2010, 10:15 AM

Never Ending Misfiring...

I have been battling a cylinder 6 misfire (P0306) for many months now. I have spent a lot of time on this website researching, but I can't seem to find anything that works.

The problem: Intermittent misfiring on cylinder 6 that will come and go. It can switch from misfiring to not misfiring instantly. No change due to driving conditions. It happens on the interstate at 70mph, in neighborhoods at 25mph, and at idle. Some days it runs great, only misfiring for a short time, other days its a battle all day long. Sometimes it accelerates just fine, other times it misfires all the way. The idle is fine. Although it may misfire, the idle stay very normal, no fluctuation.

I have checked the easy stuff already:
-Purchased new OEM coil and installed on cylinder 6
-Switched out new coil from cylinder 6 with a coil from a known good cylinder
-Replaced all 6 spark plugs
-Switching spark plugs between cylinder 6 and known good cylinder
-Switched fuel injectors from cylinder 6 with a known good cylinder
-Tugged and pulled on the wiring harness from the front bank of cylinders all the way back to the firewall by the passenger side strut tower
-Sprayed starting fluid all around intake plenum, no change in idle
-Flashed ECU to updated version

I have done all of the above, and none have made any difference in the misfiring. Always on cylinder 6.

I, fortunately, know a tech at the local Nissan dealership who also tested the the wiring harness and intake plenum with similar results. He also flashed my ECU. He is now saying it's the ECU because none of the other things have fixed it. His cost on the ECU is $650!