5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

tire reccomendations

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 04:52 AM

tire reccomendations

It seems many (most) tires are noisy - regardless of the car brand.

I have a 2001 GLE, 16" tires standard size, and am wondering what tires the Maxima crew reccomends.

I seek all season tires - number one trait being quiet and smooth, then good wear, then handling.
Old 11-07-2010, 05:19 AM

Your priorities are different than most on here regarding performance so this recommendation comes second hand from a friend of mine. I have no personal experience with these tires but he is highly impressed with them.

Yokohama DB super E spec.

http://www.yokohamatires.com/

Also as well as being quiet they are the first tires made from Orange oil.
Old 11-07-2010, 05:45 AM

Originally Posted by Intrepid1
It seems many (most) tires are noisy - regardless of the car brand.

I have a 2001 GLE, 16" tires standard size, and am wondering what tires the Maxima crew reccomends.

I seek all season tires - number one trait being quiet and smooth, then good wear, then handling.
I sell tires, trust me if your number one priority is smoothness and silence, then look into a set of Michelins. While they might be a little extra, they are worth every penny. I have the primacy mxv4's on my car right now and love them. Although this summer when I get new wheels I will go with a set of summer tires, either a new set of general uhp's or goodyear eagle F1's.

Last edited by LongIslandMax; 11-07-2010 at 05:48 AM.
Old 11-07-2010, 05:57 AM

+1, you just can't beat Michelin mxv4's for quietness and long-wearing.

The problem with them is that they are at least twice the cost of what you can get other fairly decent tires for.