5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

3rd gear crunch... i think???

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2011, 06:53 PM

3rd gear crunch... i think???

o.k im still a MT newb, not necessarily to driving one but diagnosing or troubleshooting issues with em... all this time the car ran fine until i went to go pick my moms up to get her phone fixed i noticed i started getting a 3rd gear crunch, it makes a fairly loud crunch, its kinda weird because if i down shift it wont crunch but under normal driving conditions it will make a very noticeable crunch... i will be changing gear oil this weekend just to make sure but would there or should there be anything else that can cause this thats an easy fix???
Old 04-26-2011, 06:58 PM
L36

Change the gear oil, make sure you use GL4 speced oil, unless syncos were changed to a different metal in MT6 speed, since i have 5 speed and putting GL5 lube in 5MT is a recipe for a disaster.

If the issue persists, you have a bad synco on 3rd gear, unless the clutch does not disengage all the way, but if it did not, all the gears would grind....

Last edited by L36; 04-27-2011 at 05:17 AM.
Old 04-26-2011, 07:01 PM

mmm gotcha... thanks for the info... luckily im off for the week, ill try to minimize the driving til i get to it, is this asmoil GL4 sold on shelf at advance auto or autozone?
Old 04-26-2011, 07:59 PM
Bad *** Newb

Originally Posted by Grand_hustle17
mmm gotcha... thanks for the info... luckily im off for the week, ill try to minimize the driving til i get to it, is this asmoil GL4 sold on shelf at advance auto or autozone?
I got mine from the group buy guy (rooster something? lol). It was 44 shipped.

I doubt you can find it local unless you're close enough to pick it up direct.
Old 04-26-2011, 08:39 PM