5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Fuel Types

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2012, 03:18 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Fuel Types

I am purchasing my first Nissan Maxima (2000) and I was recommended to use Premium gas in the car. I am currently driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee, so I am used to throwing a bunch of money away at the tank. I know I will be getting better gas mileage in the Maxima, but was wondering if putting regular fuel in will do damage to the car over time. What kind of issues will I face down the road if I don't put premium gas in? I'm a student and want to cut my gas prices, but not at the cost of doing damage to my car.
Old 04-15-2012, 03:42 PM

I would definitely recommend putting premium gas in. It benefits the engine in too many ways to even begin to mention and for a full tank its what, $3 difference total? This website has some good info http://www.toptiergas.com/ Congrats on the purchase
Old 04-15-2012, 06:27 PM

I have never used premium fuel in my Maxima. I use it in the 05 Pathfinder, I know NOT using it may not be very good for the car, but the person i had bought it from never used it, and i haven't and there hasn't been any direct problems from 87 so far. just my 2 cents.
Old 04-15-2012, 07:10 PM

since buying my 2000 Maxima in Feb. 2010 i have used 89 octane and have had zero problems, i have read that using 87 octane just makes the ECU retard timing to prevent pinging thus suffering performance, but no ill effects have been noted, i have never used 93 octane and have no engine performance issues in over 2 years of ownership, my MPG prolly suffer ( getting around 200 miles per 1/2 tank according to the gauge ) and i may be getting better MPG's using 93 octane but the difference in gas prices negates me using it in my Max.

Hope that helps
Old 04-15-2012, 08:06 PM
Get Off My Lawn

Here is the rundown: