5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

02 6MT, clutch starts grabbing almost as soon as its moved away from the floor.

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2013, 07:46 PM

02 6MT, clutch starts grabbing almost as soon as its moved away from the floor.

almost all cars' ive driven the pedal only does this when there is air in the clutch line, ill say, im new to maxima's, is it a hydrolic clutch line? is this normal for a max? if not im going to try to bleed the system, is there a preferred way to bleed it if it is hydrolic? about the last half of the pedal movement does absolutely nothing, by 2-3 inches off the floor its fully engaged.

my contour is fully engaged with about 1/4-1/2" left in the pedal movement, my fiero's are about the same as the contour.

just trying to get a feel for whats up with the car, whats normal, what isnt.

matthew
Old 01-17-2013, 08:19 PM

Yes, the clutch is hydraulic. The bleeding procedures are in the FSM (Found Here). As far as clutch pedal travel, every car is different. I've driven at least 100 different cars with MT and I guarantee you that no two were the same. Does that mean something's not wrong with yours? No. Check it and see. If you are going to bleed your clutch master/slave cylinders I highly recommend replacing the disaster of lines and hose that Nissan used with just a one piece line (available here). If you don't you will have a hell of a time bleeding any air out of that rats nest.
Old 01-17-2013, 08:22 PM

Originally Posted by rebelhell