5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Battery/Brake light, confused

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2016, 04:29 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Battery/Brake light, confused

So here's the full story.
I was working, I'm a deliver driver, and my car just randomly decides not to accelerate more than 5 mph, and would randomly start speeding up like normal. Then it dies completely. I took it to get my alternator replaced with a new one. When they did, my radio wasn't working at all but the car was running. Low and behold the next day it died again, so I took the battery to get recharged but the folks at AutoZone said it wouldn't even charge so I just got a new battery, now my car starts and will run fine.

Here's the issue.
The battery and "BRAKE" light come on when I start it, but they go away once I start pressing the gas and drive. Could this be overcharging? A bad fuse? I was also thinking that since the radio wasn't working, it could just be a case of the stupid mechanics not hooking everything up properly? I mean if some lights are innocently coming on and my radio isn't working that's fine with me, but I need my car to work, and I just got the job and I feel like an idiot. The funny thing is none of this started until my first night at Dominos.
Old 01-31-2016, 05:10 AM
Bad *** Newb

Originally Posted by trentonlambert
So here's the full story.
I was working, I'm a deliver driver, and my car just randomly decides not to accelerate more than 5 mph, and would randomly start speeding up like normal. Then it dies completely. I took it to get my alternator replaced with a new one. When they did, my radio wasn't working at all but the car was running. Low and behold the next day it died again, so I took the battery to get recharged but the folks at AutoZone said it wouldn't even charge so I just got a new battery, now my car starts and will run fine.

Here's the issue.