5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

NEWBIE HERE. Need help! p0430 code

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2016, 03:28 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

NEWBIE HERE. Need help! p0430 code

I'm new here but I need some help! SES light came on about a month ago, used my code reader and the wonderful p0430 code came up. About a week ago I used an o2 sim to try and fix it but after I cleared the codes, my SES light came back on after a few miles. Plugged in my code reader and alas, my p0430 code is gone. BUT 4 NEW CODES CAME UP. p0135, p0141, p0155, and p0161. Ever since I put in the o2 sim, I hear a squeaky noise when I turn my heater on. Now I'm clueless. Any help appreciated!
Old 12-11-2016, 06:05 PM

If your original code was for the O2 sensor, why didn't you just swap out the O2 sensor for a new one? Seems to me like trying to save money came back to bite you.
Old 12-11-2016, 07:01 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by MaximaNoob1
If your original code was for the O2 sensor, why didn't you just swap out the O2 sensor for a new one? Seems to me like trying to save money came back to bite you.
I heard that using o2 sims work. That's why I tried it.
Old 12-13-2016, 09:13 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

0430 indicates poor catalyst function, not necessarily a bad O2 sensor.

Avendeleon, all four of these new codes are related to the O2 sensor heaters. I take it you tapped sims into all four. Did you leave the O2 sensors plugged into the car? My understanding is that they must remain attached so that the heaters work and send back a good signal. If you did leave the sensors attached, did you tap the sims into the wrong wires?
Old 12-13-2016, 09:40 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by elSueco
0430 indicates poor catalyst function, not necessarily a bad O2 sensor.