5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Newbie here; Former Acura owner has questions.

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2002, 09:07 PM
jl74

Newbie here; Former Acura owner has questions.

This is my first post. After 2700+ post on Honda-Tech.com after 2 years, I am leaving the H-A scene and start this one. My Acura GS-R was stolen and I am moving up to a Maxima SE, with 6 speed.

I am picking up the car next week.
1. I am confident I have made the right choice but additional support would be nice, especially from those who had the 8k rpm high reving GSR.
2. I am picking one up for around invoice price. I did some research and it seems like the going rate. Anyone got theirs for less? If so how much?
3. Is the Limited Slip Diff. worth it? The package I am getting doesn't come with one, and if opt for that $350 option, it will add another 1k since it is only available with certain packages.
4. About the advertised 28 mpg, is this really accurate from you driving experiences? It seems to high for a 3.5 engine. I mean my Path only gets like 19 mpg but I am sure the fuel delivery is different due to a variety of things but I am just a bit skeptical.
5. Repairs? anyone had some bad experiences?
6. My stolen GS-R was loaded with aftermarket, are there significant aftermarket support for the Maxima?

Thanks in advance and I will keep using the search function.

Old 04-13-2002, 09:12 PM
jjs

Some feedback...

1. Think you did. Had a Prelude V-TEC and really enjoy the Max.
2. This entirly depends on location, dealership, etc. You can drive yourself nuts with this one if you dwell on it!
3. Get the HLSD, I know I am very happy with the VLSD that came on my 2001 AE.
4. Don't expect that high a mileage...some members do get that, but with the fun that the Max delivers, it is VERY difficult to stay off the throttle!!