6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

shift knob loose- design problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2004, 02:49 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

shift **** loose- design problem

when i took delivery on my 2004 maxima i noticed that the shift **** was VERY loose. i have not checked other models and i'm new to nissan so i dont know if this was normal.

during the attempted repair of my broken bose cd changer (see my other post) the dealer removed the shift ****, ostensibly to provide more access to the cd unit.

when i drove home the shift **** fell off in my hand!

now that it was off i had the chance to closely examine why it was so loose.

this is caused by a DESIGN problem! on the end of the shift shaft is a detent on the rearward side of the shaft. in the inside top of the **** socket is a protruding tang. when the **** is fully inserted on to the shaft this tang presses against the shaft's detent and makes it fit tight and firm on the shaft.

so, why is it loose? the answer is the root of the design flaw. the ****, once inserted on to the shaft, is held in place by a wire snap clip that slides over the lower part of the **** and mates with 2 slots milled on the shifter shaft sides. the problem is the these slots are too high up on the shaft! in order to slide this clip on the once-secure **** has to be lifted higher up the shaft thus making the tang and detent unmate. then the klnob can rattle and turn on the shaft.

i brought this to the dealer's attention AND to nissan customer service. i described it in a clear and detailed manner so they could 1) recognize the problem and 2) make a design change to fix it. nothing has been done!

not only is this a pain in the butt but this is a SAFETY problem!

it has been over a month and no one has contacted me to say they know about the design defect and that they will fix it.

have other owners noticed this loose ****?

have you tried to get it fixed?