6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

6.5 Gen Xenon Projector Retrofit How-To

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2008, 01:40 PM

6.5 Gen Xenon Projector Retrofit How-To

I have had some people ask me for pictures of how I put the e55 bi-xenon projectors into my halogen housings. I haven't been able to until this morning when I had to take one of them apart because of some condensation. I'm not very good at how-to's but maybe the pictures will help explain a little better. Just to be clear, I did this on my 2007 Maxima. I'm sure that the older 6th gen's would basically be the same but I am not certain.

Step 1 - Follow the instructions for baking your headlight open. You have to seperate the lens from the rest of the headlight because the halogen projector is huge and won't come out any other way. Here is a comparison picture of the 2 projectors. e55 bi-xenon on the left, halogen on the right.

Step 2 - Once the assembly and the lens have been seperated, you need to remove the 4 silver screws holding the halogen projector in. This picture is of the bi-xenon projector but the screws are in the exact same location. They are removed from the backside of the headlight.

Step 3 - Using a phillips head screw driver, turn the adjustment **** to the left until it is completely unscrewed from the bracket that holds the projector in place.

Step 4 - With the adjustment screw completely loosened, the bracket is able to be leaned forward giving you enough room to lift the halogen projector out.

Step 5 - Now that the halogen projector is out, you can put the bracket back in place and tighten the adjustment screw so it is held securely.

Step 6 - This step is only necessary if you are using the OEM Matsu****a ballasts. Cut a hole on the bottom side of the headlight assembly where the ballast mounts to so the wires can be ran.
Old 12-20-2008, 01:41 PM

continued...