6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

Cost to replace CVT - 2007 Maxima?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2012, 04:50 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Cost to replace CVT - 2007 Maxima?

Long story short..posted in a different thread..first post, so was in the wrong area...

2007 Maxima w/ 116K miles...radiator blew, possibly ruining the transmission. Thought it was the head gasket as the fluid leaking looked milky. Had the radiator replaced, but transmission seems to be jumping at higher speeds. When the check engine light came on and temp gauge went up, I limped it up the street to my driveway (drove less than 2mph about 200ft).

Couple of questions, as I'm no auto mechanic and know little when it comes to cars...

Could the loss of coolant ruin the transmission that quickly?
Will the radiator failure void the transmission warranty?
Do I have a transmission problem at all?
What fault code should the transmission log produce if it is seeing problems?
Oh and...if I have to replace it, What is the general cost to do so?

Thank you in advance.
Old 07-02-2012, 05:55 PM

OK, your radiator has a place for transmission fluid to cool off while it circles outside the transmission housing. however this has nothing to do with your overheating problem. even though you are losing all your water, doesn't mean your transmission is bad. However again, if your running your car with no water the transmission will have hot fluid circulating back. This is not good however AGAIN, your car will melt its engine much sooner than you will destroy your tranny.