7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My car just goes limp!

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2014, 02:59 PM

My car just goes limp!

Ok, I don't know if it's just crappy Nissan mechanics here or I have the worst imagination in the world but my car goes limp (not that I'm running it hard).

Here's what's happening, maybe one of you can tell me what it is or may be from your experience:

I'm driving along and hit the gas, it accelerates up to 90 then I step on the pedal and it bogs, the gas pedal is floored sometimes and the car just falls flat on its' face.

I asked them to check my plugs and they said they were good, they put it on their machine and got nothing, they drove it and couldn't duplicate what happened but hopefully I'll drive them next time so they can tell me (didn't have time the last time I went).

What could this be? Please help, I'm not a mechanically inclined enough person to assess this problem.

Any help you provide is appreciated,
Thanks
Old 10-29-2014, 03:16 PM

They have a pill for that these days
Old 10-29-2014, 03:21 PM

How many miles do you have on it? Sounds like your cvt is going into limp mode. Also, I would consider hitting the gas and taking it to 90 driving it hard. If your doing that repeatedly or driving above 80mph on thr highway for example for extended periods of time our cars have been known to limp out. I few weeks ago someone posted having similar problems with his car. We told hit to check his cvt fluid levels and condition. You may be due for a fluid change. Good luck!
Old 10-29-2014, 05:55 PM

If the CVT goes into limp mode, it will display the CVT icon. Is that not correct? Based on a lot of the tuners on this forum, the CVT does cut power after 85 mph as if there were only 30% throttle input vs 100%. How often does this occur? What are your engine temps? Any odd noises?
Old 11-03-2014, 04:49 PM

HTML Code: