Have anyone asked the Nissan Dealer to set engine braking to OFF in Maxima 2009? - Maxima Forums

Go Back  Maxima Forums > Maxima Discussions > 7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015)
Reload this Page >

Have anyone asked the Nissan Dealer to set engine braking to OFF in Maxima 2009?

7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima

Have anyone asked the Nissan Dealer to set engine braking to OFF in Maxima 2009?

Old 12-06-2018, 10:09 PM

Hello,
Maxima 2009 with 82k miles. Around where I live there are some hilly roads, one of these is very close to the road I take when coming out of my apartment complex. I hate it (these chilly cold days) when engine is not very warmed up to normal temperature for the RPM to shoot between 2k to 3k when going down hill. Now I understand that it is a safety feature for the car so it makes going downhill "more controlled", but I am a slow and careful driver anyway lol
I am taking the car to Nissan dealer for a CVT fluid change (damn I wish I had the space and a good ramp to do the fluid change myself!). Should I ask them to disable the engine braking (see FSM section TM-34. They have to access that section in CONSULT when they will reset fluid deterioration level)?
Anyone has asked the dealer to do it? any thoughts?
Thanks
Old 12-07-2018, 05:58 AM

Originally Posted by mahanddeem View Post
Hello,
Maxima 2009 with 82k miles. Around where I live there are some hilly roads, one of these is very close to the road I take when coming out of my apartment complex. I hate it (these chilly cold days) when engine is not very warmed up to normal temperature for the RPM to shoot between 2k to 3k when going down hill. Now I understand that it is a safety feature for the car so it makes going downhill "more controlled", but I am a slow and careful driver anyway lol