8th Generation Maxima (2016-) Let's see what Nissan has to offer on the 8th generation Maxima

Newbie here, need some help

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2016, 08:26 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Newbie here, need some help

Hi
I'm very close to ending my almost life long marriage with Honda/Acura to join the Maxima nation.
However I'm torn on deciding between the SR version and the Platinum version?
Also, can't decide between black/black or white/black.
If it matters, for the record I'm a single dad with 2 kids who are with me a lot of the time.
Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance.
Old 01-21-2016, 10:06 PM

I just bought an SR this morning - I've had a 2007 Camry SE that I loved.
I was initially planning to buy an Accord but found the ride too soft compared to what I liked and the steering to not be very rewarding, that's why I ended up in Maxima territory.
I (perhaps) made the mistake of not testing the SL/Platinum so I'm not sure what I'm missing and can't really compare the rides - have you felt a difference when testing both?

What I can tell you is that in your situation I would actually consider the Platinum over the SR for three reasons.

First, the ride in the SR is very very stiff. It's stiffer than my old Camry SE. You constantly feel the road. I wanted that because I've been "spoiled" by my previous car and because it's a matter of personal preference. It might be way too much of a change for you if you've previously driven Hondas and Acuras. It's going to be interesting for me going back and forth to the Odyssey which is so comfortable. Because it's my commuting car, the kids are rarely going to be riding with me - we have a Honda Odyssey that they mostly ride in. You're going to have to make the ride comfortable for multiple people, including in the back, and with car seats. Car seats aren't really designed to absorb bottom bumps, they may actually amplify it.