All Motor All Motor Advanced Performance. Talk about Engine Swaps, Internal Engine work. Not your basic Y pipe and Intake Information.

3.5 Cams or Aftermarket cams?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2006, 06:52 AM

3.5 Cams or Aftermarket cams?

Hey Guys im pretty new to this part of the Section.

Anyways I have a 2k with the 3.0

I was thinking about upgrading the cams for some extra hp.

I want to keep it simple, does anyone know if the 3.5 cams have any gain on a 3.0 ? or will it be a direct fit or not?

Does anyone with a 3.0 have aftermarket cams on theres with some links and prices?

Even maybe a Vid of how the cams sounds on idle or while driving conditation?

Thanks
Old 03-15-2006, 08:33 AM
Custom User Title

Definitely not after market cams, as they aren't much cheaper than an entire 3.5 engine swap.
Old 03-15-2006, 12:45 PM
shift_Puff

seriously, just swap for a 3.5. It's worth it, trust me. Hopefulyl u are 5spd already
Old 03-17-2006, 08:47 AM

Originally Posted by 95mtlMAXSE
seriously, just swap for a 3.5. It's worth it, trust me. Hopefulyl u are 5spd already
nopes not at all .. this is my 1st auto car.

im not trying do 5swaps or really a 3.5 swap..just looking for add power to the motor now. hmm well thanks guys I guess I can scrape the idea of cams then.,
Old 03-17-2006, 09:38 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

3.5 intake cams will have to be drilled to be used in your 3.0. They will provide some gains due to the increased lift. I have set if you are interested. Be advised that aftermarket cams on an auto will make it a dog off the line. I would not do it unless you have a ton of other supporting mods to make it worthwhile.
Old 03-17-2006, 09:59 AM
SomePsychoGuy

Cams + auto = slow without a high stall TC

VQ35 Aftermarket cams are your best bet, but they are expensive to buy and to install and you will loose torque. I would recommend all of the bolt ons, 5 speed swap, and maybe a VQ35 before I would recommend cams.
Old 03-17-2006, 12:07 PM