Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

How good is today's aftermarket car audio?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2003, 08:33 AM
JMF

How good is today's aftermarket car audio?

Let me start by saying I'm quite knowledgeable about the inner workings of car/home audio systems. I used to work as an installer about 12 years ago (before college) and I have over $15,000 of late model audio equipment in my house.

I already have plans to deal with the midrange/high speakers in my Maxima. My question relates to the development of subwoofers over the years. For example, I KNOW that 10" subs six years ago were better than 12" subs 12 years ago.

Six years ago was the last time I heard any serious aftermarket car stereo, ever since then, I've been pulling stereos OUT of my cars! (for weight)

I want to add ONE sub to the trunk of my Maxima. I plan to build a ported box (dep on mfr's suggestion) to go along with lightly amplified mids and highs. I am going to go with a L7 or a W7, either 10" or 12."

Please give me a recommendation on which sub to install (type/size). I'll welcome an suggestions besides the L7 or W7. Thanks
Old 08-10-2003, 10:12 AM

Yeah, check out places like www.12vlounge.com or www.caraudioforum.com and see what other people are using. You are right, 10s of today are much better than 12s of yesterday. Additionally, companies like ED (Elemental Designs) are coming out with 8" subs which will knock your socks smooth off your feet.

Kevin
Old 08-10-2003, 02:54 PM
JMF

Thanks! I'll let you know what I decide on!
Old 08-14-2003, 07:42 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

If you are going to spend the money on a W7 OR L7 (I assume for some serious SPL) I would recommend something that sounds good as well as being really loud. (I'm an audiophile..) Check out Image Dynamics , a/d/s/ RS series, Eclipse, Diamond Audio, Alumapro, and mb quart for starters.
Old 08-14-2003, 07:47 AM
JMF