Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

1ST Thing I should get?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2004, 08:04 AM
Donating Maxima.org Member

1ST Thing I should get?

I am a noob when it comes to audio. I have no idea what to get. I did buy a new H/U, an Alpine 9813. Should I upgrade speakers first? or something else? I am not looking for an expensive system. Something middle of the road, that will sound good and upgrade my factory system. BTW I have a 2K Maxima SE.
Also if you can recommend speakers, amp I would appreciate it.

Bill
Old 06-19-2004, 08:23 AM
I need a truck

You should do everything at once.

There are so many different kinds of speakers out there that it's hard to decide. One person might be partial to one brand while another to another brand.
Old 06-19-2004, 08:42 AM

the best thing to do is listen to different speakers then decide which one you want.
Old 06-19-2004, 09:08 AM

tsunami speakers are awsome.... check them out
Old 06-20-2004, 06:28 PM
§è~® f®ÈÄk

any info on tsunami's online?
Old 06-20-2004, 07:42 PM

how much do you want to spend and what do you want to upgrade? you got the head unit, which is a good first step. if you want to go to the next step, you could get new speakers all around. I would suggest components up front to replace the existing ones, and coaxials in the rear.

if you want to go even further, you can get an amp to power those door speakers.

the next step after that would be a subwoofer and an additional amplifier.

with these said, you could swap the order of these. instead of upgrading your door speakers, you could do the sub/amp combo first. you may like this sound, and be content with it.

there is no right or wrong way of doing this. just remember you need an amplifier to power your subwoofer, at least 200 watts.
Old 06-21-2004, 05:41 AM