Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

want to replace entire bose stereo

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2005, 03:06 PM

want to replace entire bose stereo

I have a 98 max and want to replace the entire stock bose system (HU & speakers). My only questions are:

#1) how easy is it for a complete newbie at car audio to take out the stock equipment & put in aftermarket equipment?

#2) after taking out the bose HU & speakers, how do i connect the aftermarket HU to the aftermarket speakers? can i just use the speaker wire & connectors that the bose unit used? if not, how do i go about getting new wires & connectors?

I really need to determine if i can do everything myself so that i can plan out everything. Thanks!
Old 03-22-2005, 03:17 PM

1) If you're a complete noob, you'll need some assistance, but there isn't anything terribly different. The H/U is kind of tedious, fitting it in the dash kit and wiring it up. Taking off the door panels, swapping out speakers are both pretty easy.

2) if you're using an amp to power the speakers, all you'll need is rcas and remote wire from the HU to the amp. If you're powering them with the HU, you'll need a wiring adapter to use the stock wiring.
Old 03-22-2005, 03:26 PM

I plan on using the HU's amp. What is this adapter that i need? do i have the option of swapping out the stock wires, or is this too difficult to do. Whatever you guys suggest is best.
Old 03-22-2005, 04:25 PM
O'rly

check out www.crutchfield.com you will usually be able to get the wire harness and radio kit to install, along with step by step instructions on how to install.
Old 03-29-2005, 07:33 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

I am kinda confused from the #2 answer. I know the stock speakers are amped individually in our Max. Do you have to bypass or rewire around these amps if you aftermarket everything??
Old 03-29-2005, 08:09 PM