Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

newbie here..help please

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2005 | 07:35 PM

newbie here..help please

i just want a little bit more bass, but not a huge booming sound. how hard is it to install a bazooka tube? what is needed for the install? do you have to take the whole dash apart to put in and hide the wires? is there any wiring that has to be ran to the battery or through the firewall? do i need an external amp? i have kenwood kdc-128 HU. sorry for all the stupid questions, but i don't know anything about audio. forgot to mention i have a 91 SE
Old 09-26-2005 | 08:24 PM

Hey man... we haven't forgotten about you... it's just really late and I'm having a hard time seeing the screen straight. I'll get to your questions tomorrow if someone doesn't beat me to it
Old 09-26-2005 | 10:09 PM
SHIFT_om nom nom nom

The Infinity Basslink will more than suit your needs so long as you are not looking for "crazy bass". It's a peice of cake to install. You will need an 8 AWG install kit and a set of RCAs to wire the basslink to the hu. Yes, some of the dash will need to be taken apart, and yes you will need to run wire through the firewall...as well as throughout the interior and to the trunk for the power and RCA cables.

Basslink goes in trunk
Power Basslink from battery
Connect RCA to Basslink
Enjoy bass

Here's a good write-up in a 5th gen

http://maxima.cardomain.com/ride/143972/9
Old 09-26-2005 | 10:31 PM