Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

help replacing stock system pleeeease

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2001, 02:40 AM
monqy

ok i'm pretty new to both maxima's and sound systems in general...but i'm learning really quickly and i think i have a pretty decent grasp of things. please bare with me and any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

i just got a used 97 gxe 2 days ago with the bare bones am/fm/cassette receiver and speakers in it. i am looking to replace the HU and all four speakers with new units.

i need to keep the entire thing under 400 dollars though so i can't afford to go all out or even semi-all out. this means no amp, no sub, and that i am going to power all four speakers with just the HU. i'm looking for the cleanest sound possible within my price range and not really concerned with extreme loudness...the amp and the sub might come later on down the road.

what would ya'll recommend for the HU? i'm looking for something definitely under 200. the pioneer deh-1300 or something similar maybe? similar HU's run about 20-23W RMS/45-50W peak...is this going to have adequate power for the speakers?

as for the speakers, i went to crutchfield.com and got a list of speakers that would drop straight into the factory speaker housings...here's what i came up with...

pioneer ts-g1645 $35
ts-1620ii $69
rf frc1206 $49
frc2206 $64.35
jenson ks6520 $57.99
kenwood kfc-1738c $59.95
sony xs-f1721 $65.95
xs-v1631 $71.40
polk ex652a $68.25
infinity kappa 652.1i $89.89

the prices are what i was able to find by lookin around on the net...but they exclude ebay. does anyone know how good any one of these speakers sound when they are powered by just the head unit?