Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

What ever happened to installing a system in less than a day?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2006, 08:28 PM

What ever happened to installing a system in less than a day?

I used to be an installer at a retail store about 2 years ago, anyway I remember doing lots of installs a day, amps, speakers, whole systems, we could do 4 complete systems a day....

well, now that i work on my maxima it seems like its taking for ever... i've been working on it ever since i got it 3 months ago...

but i guess it has to do with the fact that i only have about a day and a half a week to work on it....

i'm sooo beat, i just finished putting my midranges and crossovers in the doors, first time i ever took them off, my big *** 6-3/4s took a little work to get them to fit in stock locations, also had to dremel out all 4 stock speakers so i could use the bracket, really, i guess the reason it takes so long for me to install now is because i'm working on my own car, i take much more time and care to make sure everything is done right, i sealed every little hole or possible slot that may leak air for each speaker, found great hiding places for my crossovers and ran wires for my tweeters, everything seems to be going good and should be cured tomorrow, now i just have to decide if i want flush mount my tweeters or top mount them with only a small hole....then i gotta fix my saggy trunk find a place to mount my 2 amps and shove my sub in the trunk....i finally ran my 1/0 power last week when i dyed my carpet, i found the nice passage along both doors inside the car, i was afraid i would have to run it under the car...

anyway, im just venting, im pooped, i guess i should try and take pictures if anyone would like to see i havent taken one picture yet of my car, shame on me....hehe

anyone else seem to spend a lot of time on their maxima?
Old 06-04-2006, 08:51 PM