Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Sound System for a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2001, 07:43 PM

Hello everyone. I must admitt i am pretty new with my maxima and just turned 17, which means i now have money from my birthday to spend. I currently own a 97 maxima SE with the bose system. I am looking to upgrade my sound system. I would like to replace the front speakers (one came blown with the car) and put two 12s in the back. I am able to handle getting the head unit but i am clueless as to what brands to go with for the speakers. I am also able to get someone to rewire everthing to bypass the bose amplifiers, so that is not a big problem. I would also attemped to build a sub box with my wood shop friends. However, i just do not know which speakers or amp to get. Also i am not sure what/which amp would be able to power the subs. I am looking to spend aroun 600 (+-100)for the front speakers amp and subs, i am assuming i can pick everthing up at a discount either from ebay or a friend. I would apreciate anyones suggestions of front speakers and subs and amps. Thank you
Old 06-20-2001, 02:22 AM

Well for used parts it should be doable on that price.

Good brands for amps are Orion XTR series, RF, ESX Quantum series, Phoenix Gold XS series, HiFonics Zeus, Autotek, Kicker, PPI, US Acoustics, Zapco, Memphis, DEI Directed Audio, Xtant, Soundstream, Sony and MTX.

Good brands for subs would be, Adire Audio Shiva or Tempest, Peerless XLS, JL Audio W3 series, Image Dynamics IDQ series, MTX, Alpine Type-R, Audiobahn, Crystal Mobilesound, DEI Audio, Boston Acoustics, Digital Designs, Eclipse, Kicker, Infinity, Oz Audio etc.

Good brands for speakers are, DEI Directed Audio, CDT Audio, Focal, Image Dynamics, Oz Audio, JL Audio, Infinity, Morel Renaissance, Xtant, Polk, etc.