Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Help me out please!

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2001, 03:12 PM
Neice Anne

Help me out please!

Okay, first of all I must admit I'm no expert when it comes to car stereo stuff... so I go into Ultimate Electronics intending to buy an Infinity reference 10. However, they're out of them, and I ask the salesman what else they have in the same price range as the $85 reference subs.. he asks me what kind of amp I'm using and I tell him.. a DHD 400 watt max 2 channel amp. He tells me "Okay, so you realize your amp is probably running 50x2, as these knockoff companies usually lie about their power ratings. So, you should get some Rockford Fosgate HEs 8 ohm. You need some 8 ohm subs so that you can bridge your amp and it will knock the amp ohm rating down to 2, and the sub ohm rating to 4. You don't want to get the normal 4 ohm amps because it would decrease power output when you bridged it and they went down to 2 ohms." I know jack **** about ohm loads, is what he's saying right? I was just thinking of getting an Infinity Kappa online for $100 total, since it has an RMS of 200 and my amp is 400.. but he said since my amp isn't correct with the power rating, if I get a 4 ohm sub (like those Kappas) they will blow because my power will be too low. What do you guys think? Is it safe to get an Infinity Kappa, or should I go with an 8 ohm sub like he was saying? Thanks for reading this longass message, and any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated. I don't wanna end up buying a sub that I just blow immeadiately!

Old 11-12-2001, 05:18 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Re: Help me out please!

Originally posted by Neice Anne