Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Issues with Non-Bose Sound System (6th Gen)

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2008, 05:22 AM

Issues with Non-Bose Sound System (6th Gen)

I have an 04 Max with the Non-Bose system. After doing alot of reading and getting confused time after time I think the majority of owners on here really dislike their stock and Bose premium systems and suggest aftermarket... I do want to say I appreciate that all of you guys have that ability and know-how to teach us "audiologically challenged" how to properly establish a good system according to your preferences into your vehicle. I have no knowledge of anything at all that goes on with audio in my car let alone other things such as the engine. I am trying to and want to learn but need someone to take it tremendously slow that I may understand.

Here is my situation: I have the non-Bose system and last winter the CD Player simply stopped ejecting CD's. It plays CD's well until I hit a bump then it will stop and take about 20 or so seconds to revive itself. I was on a search at the stealership to get this replaced but it came with a 270.00 price tag and 4-day vacation for Xima. I wanted to switch to the Bose system because my friend hooked me up and I received all 4 door speakers and the 2 Bose trunk speakers for free after I told him two of my speakers were busted.. he just didnt know that I had non-Bose so he just sent whatever he had.. With that being said... the Bose speakers he gave me are only 2 years from an 06. I dont really want to go and buy speakers for an aftermarket system because I dont mind the Bose system especially since I have the speakers for the Bose system... my cuz has an 07 with Bose and I really like the sound of it. I'm not a huge audiophile but it suits my needs...