Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Anyone else upgrade their stereo system some how? Where did you start?

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2009, 10:29 AM

Anyone else upgrade their stereo system some how? Where did you start?

I have a 2007 SE and the sound system is definitely not bad, but I HATE how it turns it down when its loud. I know its so your speakers don't blow but I would rather have more powerful speakers that I don't have to worry about the system turning them down at louds parts of the song. Being a musician I hate having to say that my stereo is the reason the song isn't sounding right when I'm showing people my stuff. I think i'd also be interested in a sub or 2 in the trunk.

I'm mainly looking to see how you guys with the same setup have dealt with your systems, or how you upgraded them.

Also, I'm pretty sure I don't have the bose system that could have come equipt.

thanks!
Old 06-13-2009, 11:27 AM

not sure what all you'd have to do. might be some wiring harnesses you'd have to get to bypass amps and all that.

id check out crutchfield.com they have a bunch of information on what it takes to redo factory systems.
Old 06-13-2009, 11:45 AM

Thanks!
Old 06-13-2009, 02:49 PM

I had a lot of kick *** systems and my advise to u is to look around on craigslist, you can get great deals on barely used stuff. Buy a headunit, amp, and subs. Research them all - make sure u find the right products for what u want. Then go to a good shop and purchase inside speakers and have everything installed!
Old 06-13-2009, 02:52 PM

I have an 07 with the Bose system and its pretty amazing how much it really sucks.Heres what you'll need:

Wiring harness
ant. adaptor
And of course your new equipment

If you using another double din you dont need a dash kit.Do not buy one if its a double din!!

Go here for part numbers.You can get all you need from Best Buy.