Autocrossing and Road Course Racing Enjoy and discuss the fun through the twisties at your favorite auto-x event. Check out the links to the SCCA website to locate your local club.

Going to the track thursday

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2002, 07:11 PM

Going to the track thursday

Im gonna test my car out at Gingerman in Michigan. My current setup is eibachs on stock shocks, RSB, FSTB, and G-Force KWDS tires. This is my first time going to an actual road course so it should be fun. Any tips that would be helpful for me???

PS...Telling me not to crash is not a tip
Old 08-13-2002, 07:27 PM

Re: Going to the track thursday

Originally posted by MAX2000JP
Im gonna test my car out at Gingerman in Michigan. My current setup is eibachs on stock shocks, RSB, FSTB, and G-Force KWDS tires. This is my first time going to an actual road course so it should be fun. Any tips that would be helpful for me???

PS...Telling me not to crash is not a tip
What brakes do you have and what fluid? Make sure you put more air in the tires for the session and build speed slowly throughout the day. Don't try to go too fast too soon, bad things have a habit of happening Roadcourse driving is a blast, just try to concentrate on having fun and not going as fast as you possibly can and try not to race anyone out there. There will be people in "lesser" cars who are faster than you. It can be pretty hard sometimes not to give in and try to catch them, but it's really easy to get over your head and cause a problem or wreck your car if you try to chase them down. I'm rambling, so I'll shut up now.

Just FYI, you're going to kill the stock struts.
Old 08-13-2002, 07:28 PM

I have performance friction carbon metallic pads on...I fogot to mention this.

I already have 20k on the stock shocks. They are still good believe it or not. I am gonna get a set of AGXs though very soon.
Old 08-13-2002, 07:35 PM

I have performance friction carbon metallic pads on...I fogot to mention this.