Detailing Discuss how to make your car sparkly clean for car shows, local meets, or any other reason. What products do others use and how do we get them? Get your questions answered in here.

Annual summer-prep this Friday...

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2007, 08:45 AM
Don't you know who I am?

Annual summer-prep this Friday...

Throughout the summer I tend to wash my car once every two weeks and apply a quick spray wax/detailer to get it to shine. However, the first wash of the summer is always the more involved detailing session, and this year, I'm planning on doing things a little bit different than I have in the past. Because I have never done this before and I do not own any buffer/orbital tools, I was hoping to get some feedback on the process I am planning on undergoing.

So here is the plan:

1.) Wash the car with dish soap to remove all old wax.
2.) Using a spray bottle with a soapy (dish detergent) water mix, spray a section of the car, and run over it with a claybar to remove contaminants from the paint. Repeat on all sections of the car so that the paint is smooth.
3.) Wash the car with the dish soap again (is this appropriate? Maybe a standard car wash is better at this point?) to remove any bits of clay or left over lubricant, apply wheel cleaner, rinse thoroughly and dry with 100% cotton towels
4.) Use Meguiars Paint Cleaner on each section of the car.
5.) Use Meguiars Car Polish on each section of the car, applying to the section and the rubbing off with 100% cotten towel or Terry Cloth.
6.) Apply one coat of Permaseal Sealant/glaze to the car with foam applicator and removing by 100% cotten towel. (This product also contains a Carnuba Wax)
7.) Apply one coat of Meguiars Gold Class car wax.
8.) call it a day.

Any thoughts? Anything I should add? Something I should change?
Old 04-18-2007, 10:27 AM