My Dyno Thread - Page 2 - Maxima Forums

Dyno Discussion and Slips Discussion and a moderated "Dyno Slips" sub-forum to allow for posting of dyno slips.

My Dyno Thread

Reply

 
 
 
Old 07-17-2008, 10:29 PM
  #41  
Toolie
iTrader: (40)
 
knight_yyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 3,706
Originally Posted by NmexMAX View Post
Since when did TS start doing 7400 RPM rev limits?

And it's an F-spec.

Knights post is not really a velocity stack, it''s more of a 'coupler so that you don't need a MAF adapter thing'. It's almost like the OEM version.

Well, they call it a velocity stack, basically a plastic composite version of the JWT pop charger stack but 3.5 inlet, and 6" od for a really big filter.

Thanks for posting all this info nmexmax, it's a lot of great information and dispels a few myths too.

Last edited by knight_yyz; 07-21-2008 at 03:56 PM.
knight_yyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:56 PM
  #42  
Toolie
iTrader: (40)
 
knight_yyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 3,706
oops, i keep saying velocity stack, and nmex is right, it's called a flow stack
knight_yyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 08:38 AM
  #43  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
is wrong with me? How come I never compared my 2 best runs? Am I that much of an idiot? I need to go home and compare, since I have not been able to find it on here, my 2 best runs.

Details to come. Again this is the whole SSIM CF.

Last edited by NmexMAX; 04-08-2010 at 08:48 AM.
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 09:30 AM
  #44  
DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS MEMBER - OWES PEOPLE MONEY
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,468
Originally Posted by NmexMAX View Post
is wrong with me? How come I never compared my 2 best runs? Am I that much of an idiot? I need to go home and compare, since I have not been able to find it on here, my 2 best runs.

Details to come. Again this is the whole SSIM CF.
Nice always liked your dyno threads. I know that I should hit a dyno to test the 2.5" vs 3" Y-pipe and vias delete stock VS SSIM... Just need a SSIM to test with haha.

I did get the UTEC and such installed after all! I had a good laugh reading my posts in this thread, lol

Last edited by sparks03max; 04-08-2010 at 09:33 AM.
sparks03max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 05:19 PM
  #45  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
Here's the comparison of my best functioning VI an SSIM.



But, we must not forget, the 233 is with an intake and headers, that's it. Whereas the other is with ... ahhh a lot more.
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 05:28 PM
  #46  
Demodded and Forgotten
iTrader: (45)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Area 51
Posts: 2,859
So the extra 8 HP was with what? SSIM, Land Rover MAF, etc?
rroderiques77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 05:34 PM
  #47  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
Come on man, look at the area under the curve! Peak numbers are ftl ..

Ahh, TS/SSIM/different intake/LRMAF/LW wheels/test pipe/cattman B-pipe some SAFCII fidgeting.
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 07:58 AM
  #48  
DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS MEMBER - OWES PEOPLE MONEY
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,468
Originally Posted by NmexMAX View Post
Come on man, look at the area under the curve! Peak numbers are ftl ..

Ahh, TS/SSIM/different intake/LRMAF/LW wheels/test pipe/cattman B-pipe some SAFCII fidgeting.
Yeah looks like gains would have been nearly 30hp if the 233 run were taken out to the stock rev limiter. 20hp at 6500 isn't too bad either!

Between JayPee's SSIM times, and your dyno, I am considering revisiting the SSIM... I believe I have all the supporting mods you could possibly want, at this point.
sparks03max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 08:20 AM
  #49  
Senior Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,805
Originally Posted by sparks03max View Post
Yeah looks like gains would have been nearly 30hp if the 233 run were taken out to the stock rev limiter. 20hp at 6500 isn't too bad either!

Between JayPee's SSIM times, and your dyno, I am considering revisiting the SSIM... I believe I have all the supporting mods you could possibly want, at this point.
you're a funny guy, that all i can say.... funny guy
Grand_hustle17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 02:05 PM
  #50  
DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS MEMBER - OWES PEOPLE MONEY
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,468
Originally Posted by Grand_hustle17 View Post
you're a funny guy, that all i can say.... funny guy
Why, because I still don't have a SSIM?
sparks03max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 03:21 PM
  #51  
Senior Member
iTrader: (43)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 10,554
Originally Posted by sparks03max View Post
Yeah looks like gains would have been nearly 30hp if the 233 run were taken out to the stock rev limiter. 20hp at 6500 isn't too bad either!

Between JayPee's SSIM times, and your dyno, I am considering revisiting the SSIM... I believe I have all the supporting mods you could possibly want, at this point.
Yeah SSIM is FTW. Still need mine done.
ajcool2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 03:22 PM
  #52  
Senior Member
iTrader: (43)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 10,554
Originally Posted by rroderiques77 View Post
So the extra 8 HP was with what? SSIM, Land Rover MAF, etc?
You mean 20HP.
ajcool2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 10:00 AM
  #53  
Senior Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,805
Originally Posted by sparks03max View Post
Why, because I still don't have a SSIM?
naw because everytime i said something about the SSIM you was one of the few that comes and bash it because of theory... all cool though
Grand_hustle17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 02:15 AM
  #54  
DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS MEMBER - OWES PEOPLE MONEY
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,468
Originally Posted by Grand_hustle17 View Post
naw because everytime i said something about the SSIM you was one of the few that comes and bash it because of theory... all cool though
Because of theory, huh?

Let's not forget that I had a SSIM on my car for over a year.... Theory my ***.
sparks03max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 03:21 PM
  #55  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
Tuned+supporting mods SSIM vs untuned non supporting mods SSIM



WQT




WHP
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 06:46 PM
  #56  
Supporting Maxima.org Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 1,414
Wow. That is some serious area under the curve gains.
03BlkSETE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:54 PM
  #57  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
Good for all the nay sayers re: SSIM loses you torque Not if you know you're doing


I am planning on dynoing a week from the 18th. Should be semi interesting, I hope to at least match my old numbers. The new dyno will show the gains from the 3" exhaust + fastcat (last time was catless + cattman B pipe) and NWP spacers and a sort of new intake.

Last time was a filter strapped to the TB w/LRMAF, this time will be stock Helmholtz, 3" ID MAF + JWT POP. Let's see.

Last edited by NmexMAX; 02-12-2011 at 05:13 PM.
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 10:09 AM
  #58  
Senior Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Diego,California
Posts: 8,952
Will be waiting for that one Damn that is alot of dynos you have take so far, can't wait to get some headers and lighter wheels to see what's up...
Rods03Max619 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:02 PM
  #59  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
My water heater busted, and I'll be out of town starting tomorrow until Saturday (late) on vaca. So I will hopefully get my water heater installed Sunday or Monday, but it if happens Monday, I obviously wont be dynoing Monday, more like Friday ... either way, it's within the mile ..
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:45 AM
  #60  
Senior Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Miami , FL
Posts: 1,356
any update, been following your results to help guide me with my car, what kind of headers do you have? do you know if that lrmaf can be used in a 4th gen?
aic96max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:46 AM
  #61  
Senior Member
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,503
Originally Posted by aic96max View Post
any update, been following your results to help guide me with my car, what kind of headers do you have? do you know if that lrmaf can be used in a 4th gen?
I don't think the LR MAF can easily be used on 4th gens because our MAFs do not have the removable sensor like 5th gens and newer do. I believe our easiest option for using a larger MAF is using a N62 MAF from a Z32 or a J30.
schmellyfart is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:27 PM
  #62  
Senior Member
iTrader: (43)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 10,554
Or you could take a peice of pipe and make your own.
ajcool2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:16 PM
  #63  
Senior Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,805
That
Grand_hustle17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:39 PM
  #64  
Senior Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Miami , FL
Posts: 1,356
Originally Posted by ajcool2 View Post
Or you could take a peice of pipe and make your own.
write-up?
aic96max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 07:02 PM
  #65  
Senior Member
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,503
Cut and paste?

There was a guy here selling a custom 3" maf.. I'll see if I can find it.

Edit: Found it.
http://forums.maxima.org/4th-generat...h-maf-etc.html
And maybe something you will want to do to the maf while its out.
http://forums.maxima.org/4th-generat...af-sensor.html

Last edited by schmellyfart; 03-05-2011 at 07:06 PM.
schmellyfart is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:42 AM
  #66  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
I suppose I can add a little more to this thread. I haven’t dyno’d in years, but this is good info. Put a few theories to rest if anything.


These are the results of at least 4 runs (best of) with the listed respective mods.

Purple: Cheap autozone filter connected to LRMAF (3.25”) connected directly to the TB, NWP spacers/Cattman Gen I headers/no cat/Cattman 2.5” B-pipe/Stock Muffler/TS F-Spec/SAFCII/+2º BTDC/335cc Injectors, AFR's in the same general area, mid/low 13's.

Green: Addition of 3” Cattman exhaust, FastCat, and 3” MAF housing/JWT POP/Stock Helmholtz resonator.

Red: Addition of 2.5” test pipe, removal of Helmholtz resonator, replaced with a straight pipe (3”).

Name:  3_comp_zps3af69e9b.jpg
Views: 9
Size:  118.2 KB
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 05:37 PM
  #67  
Supporting Maxima.org Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 676
Interesting...was the FastCat a 3" diameter like the rest of the 3" Cattman catback?

Being that the 11hp hump was around 6100rpm, do you think it was more intake related and opening up a more consistent intake path?
niceguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 04:32 AM
  #68  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (43)
 
The Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 15,419
Originally Posted by NmexMAX View Post
I suppose I can add a little more to this thread. I haven’t dyno’d in years, but this is good info. Put a few theories to rest if anything.
Red: Addition of 2.5” test pipe, removal of Helmholtz resonator, replaced with a straight pipe (3”).
Nice! Thanks for sharing. With any luck, now that I have a 4" Ti system with no resonator and a custom test pipe, I might just pick up some power on the dyno. 400hp...here I come.
The Wizard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 11:57 AM
  #69  
dot dot dot ...
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
NmexMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 34,593
Originally Posted by niceguy View Post
Interesting...was the FastCat a 3" diameter like the rest of the 3" Cattman catback?

Being that the 11hp hump was around 6100rpm, do you think it was more intake related and opening up a more consistent intake path?
The FC is 2.75" ID. The 3" TP is closer to 3, and the 2.5" TP is, well 2.5".

Name:  B057DC51-C4E8-4289-A64D-6E8DC8076873.jpg
Views: 11
Size:  70.7 KB

Name:  C6E24856-D365-4BB9-BEE1-BFF8E210C153.jpg
Views: 9
Size:  62.4 KB

Name:  CB959C79-0F35-47F2-8F11-02584FA4C23E.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  66.2 KB

One thing to note in the graph is that the initial start of the dyno is lower in torque, by a lot, I blame that on the exhaust.

I've proven the Helmholtz theory on the first page of this thread. And it didn't add much at all, just changed the curve. Check the first page on that info.

Oh man Wizard .... yeah I know you'll do that.
NmexMAX is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mkaresh
8th Generation Maxima (2016-)
21
03-12-2018 07:48 PM
aw11power
Supercharged/Turbocharged
159
02-11-2017 06:34 PM
BPuff57
Advanced Suspension, Chassis, and Braking
30
06-20-2016 10:19 AM
Max Nu-BE
5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003)
2
09-28-2015 11:25 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: My Dyno Thread


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.