General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

3rd gen vs 4th

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2004, 07:34 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

3rd gen vs 4th

Does the 4th gens have a timing belt or are they strictly a chain. Is it true that these engs dont have the variable valve timing and intake like the 3rd ones do. Is the 3rd gen eng as reliable as a 4th gen. I heard they had problems with the variable valve timing spring. Is that a recurrent problem or is it a non-issue once fixed. I am thinking of purchasing a Maxima and I really like the 3rd gen body style and the lower prices of them. The 4th gen is a very good looking car and if it is that much better of an eng I'll probably look for one of them. This is my first time posting and I am very impressed with these forums and the following these cars have.
Old 07-30-2004, 07:55 PM
Getting back to his roots

Originally Posted by yamaguchi
Does the 4th gens have a timing belt or are they strictly a chain. Is it true that these engs dont have the variable valve timing and intake like the 3rd ones do. Is the 3rd gen eng as reliable as a 4th gen. I heard they had problems with the variable valve timing spring. Is that a recurrent problem or is it a non-issue once fixed. I am thinking of purchasing a Maxima and I really like the 3rd gen body style and the lower prices of them. The 4th gen is a very good looking car and if it is that much better of an eng I'll probably look for one of them. This is my first time posting and I am very impressed with these forums and the following these cars have.

4th gens = all timing chains
89-94 GXEs, 89-91 SE's = VG engine, timing belt, no variable timing, more reliable (relative term)
92-94 SEs = VE engine, timing chain, variable timing sprockets DO go bad, make an annoying noise. If fixed correctly the first time, won't be a problem again.