General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Blew my tire last night, spare didn't fit!??

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2002, 09:15 AM

Blew my tire last night, spare didn't fit!??

I ran over a stupid pothole on the highway last night and blew my front passenger side tire (on the grand central in queens for those in ny). Well I pulled over on the shoulder, two of my friends were with me so I thought alright no problem just put the spare on and get it fixed tomorrow. I've never used the little spare tire before and this was my first time. So we took the tire off and the spare wouldn't go in! It was like the holes on it were a little smaller than the real rim's and it wouldn't fit in all 5 nuts. We tried for really long and no success, and it's not like we can't change a tire, especially one of my friends who was with me has a lot of experience changing tires since hes blown his low profiles on his bimmer more than a few times. So sadly I had to put the blown tire back on and drive like 7 mph on my rim basically since that seemed like the only choice. So now there's basically no tire left and the rim has a little bit of damage (nothing big). Ok so my questions are:

Why didn't the spare fit? was I given the wrong one? I bought my car used a while ago but I don't know why they would have the wrong spare in it? It looks right, did I do something wrong?

I just put in my AGX shocks a couple of days ago, is it possible that the strut was effected at all by being driven on a blown tire for so long?

Is it possible that the rim might've went out of round after being driven on like that?

And last but not least, is there anything else that can possibly be effected by driving on a completely blown tire.

Sorry for the questions but I'm just kinda worried.
Old 01-16-2002, 09:39 AM
ejj
Donating Maxima.org Member