Infiniti I30/I35 Similar to a Maxima, yet not really a Maxima. Discussion forum on Nissan's luxury model, the Infiniti I30/I35

Air Bag Light

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2003, 10:24 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Air Bag Light

hey, I have a '98 Infiniti I30.

I'm new to Maxima.org, anyways my air bag light began to flash, it s a steady flash.

the manual says I should bring it to the delearship, I know there is something wrong with the circuitry, but is there anything else I can do to avoid making the trip to the dealer?

thanks in advance.
Old 07-15-2003, 11:16 PM

Re: Air Bag Light

My 99 I30 (@60,000 miles) is going into the dealer for the same flashing light. I've isolated my problem to the left side air bag control module (~$700). All I told the dealer was that the light was flashing. This should be a free warranty repair, no matter how many miles or years old your car is. If they expect me to pay one penny towards the fix, I'm selling my Nissan stock.

Mel

Originally posted by Deadlock
hey, I have a '98 Infiniti I30.

I'm new to Maxima.org, anyways my air bag light began to flash, it s a steady flash.

the manual says I should bring it to the delearship, I know there is something wrong with the circuitry, but is there anything else I can do to avoid making the trip to the dealer?

thanks in advance.
Old 07-16-2003, 10:54 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

ok, so you're saying that when the light flashes it means one of the modules is faulty? and its covered by the warranty no matter what?

I have 74,000 miles on mines, and how did you isolate the problem?

I suppose that resetting the ECU wouldn't help.
Old 07-16-2003, 11:30 AM

Here it is:
1. Open driver's door.
2. Turn ignition switch from "OFF" to "ON".
3. Press driver's door switch at least 5 times within 7 seconds after turning ignition switch "ON".

The air bag system is now in a diagnostic mode.
(Repeat the above procedure to return to normal operation.)