Infiniti I30/I35 Similar to a Maxima, yet not really a Maxima. Discussion forum on Nissan's luxury model, the Infiniti I30/I35

Electrical system

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2004, 02:01 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Electrical system

Hey everyone,
I'm relatively new to modding and much more of a computer person than a car guy. I was wondering if any of you had any thoughts, ideas, comments or suggestions when tapping into the car's electrical system. I'm looking into creating a computer with a touchscreen mounted on my dash and am uncertain about how to harness the car's power.
Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 12-29-2004, 04:49 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

well, first of all, I'm a computer guy too, but recently have spent more time on cars(read: joy riding, taking everything off and put them back on simply out of curiousity), anyway, if you're looking to power a computer, with touchscreen, then I recomend that you run heavy duty gauge type of electrical wires straight from the battery terminals, through the hole for the wiring harness in the firewall, and then get at least a 400W power inverter with at least two female plugs and you will basically have your electrical system set up, besure to get a good power inverter to prevent flux(bad for computer & harddrives), as for the computer itself, what brand of mobo are you thinking? or are you just gonna slap your big ol PC in there? :P anyway, just a pointer, Via makes an incredibly small motherboard solution that also includes a 1 gig Via processor with audio and video built in, more than enough for your vehicle need, and to top it off, thermal won't be much of an issue since it runs super cool. How big is an entire system that some people had made already? take a look at your CD rom module, that how big their entire system is, if you need any more info, just post
Old 01-02-2005, 08:27 PM
Donating i30 Owner