Members Rides Post Pictures of your car here. No Maxima? No problem.

LED upgrade (phase 1)

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2010, 08:30 PM

LED upgrade (phase 1)

Got some new led products today and was able to get them installed this afternoon. I'll say this now because I know it will be asked..I'm a volunteer firefighter and work full time on an ambulance, it's legal for me to run these lights when responding to a call. These are tomar rect-14 grille lights which have 4 gen III 1 watt leds in each light head. I got a good deal from a buddy of mine I work with who does emergency lighting installs for fire depts and police depts in our area.
These things are bright! I couldn't even get a good night video because all I see is a blue blur. This is only phase 1. I haven't gotten to outfitting the rest of the vehicle yet mostly due to lack of extra funds and the fact that I can't decide on what I want. I will eventually be getting a bar for across the inside of the windshield, something in the rear window and strobes in the front and back light housings. I'll update this post when I get more but I can't promise how soon that will be. Well anyway enough from me I'll let the pics and video do the rest of the talking.

Sorry about the big images and the crappy quality but they were taken with my iPhone.

And finally the video...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCxOOTLPy28
Old 06-10-2010, 10:13 PM

you sould try n mount those behind your grille but they dont look bad there

i like the switches
Old 06-10-2010, 10:21 PM

I originally planned on mounting them behind the grille because thats where I had strobes mounted before these. The problem was that the light could only be seen from directly ahead on due to the design of the grille. I wanted to have as much off axis warning from them as I could.
Old 06-11-2010, 09:53 AM
Got Retrofit?

If they can't be seen from behind your grille, mount them in those bumper inserts. They'll look better there.
Old 06-11-2010, 12:06 PM