Tires and Wheels Rubber, and lots of rubber in all kinds of sizes. What do you use when it's freezing? What do you use when it's hot? You want sticky rubbers? How about rubbers that will last a long time? Find your perfect rubber in here.

Tire Opinions Needed

Old 12-08-2010, 11:01 AM

Tire Opinions Needed

Hi I am in the market for (4) new tires my 2007 Nissan Maxima. The stock tires are pretty much done for it and all 4 are at the wear bars. I am an average driver, i drive city and some highway. I didn't realize tire shopping was so complicated but from what i am hearing the tires wear differently on different cars, so i figured who better to ask than some maxima guys. I have 46k on the car now and would like to have a tire that gives me good wear and lasts long. So far i am looking at these tires.

Michelin MX4V \ 620 A A , V
Yokohoma YK520 \ 520 A A , V
Kuhmo Ecsta LX Platinum \ 600 A A , Z

Or maybe you guys have some other suggestions, I would love to hear your tire story with your 6th Gen Maxima. Thanks any info helps!

Last edited by NismoMax80; 12-24-2010 at 02:26 PM.
Old 12-08-2010, 04:17 PM

The type of tire you use all comes down to budget and the climate you're going to be doing the lion's share of your driving. How much do you want to spend and where do you live?
Old 12-08-2010, 05:28 PM

I am in miami, FL so the bulk is in mostly warm weather. Id like to spend up to 100-160 per tire, i am not sure for me i don't mind spending the money if i can get more life out of the tire.
Old 12-08-2010, 05:31 PM

I am running Falken tires for my summer tread - www.falkentire.com/Tires/Ziex-ZE-912-2

I am satisfied with these tires, and the price on them is quite good as well.
Old 12-08-2010, 06:59 PM

The Falken ZE-912 is an EXCELLENT tire as is the Sumitomo HTR-ZIII. It's basically the same tire. I'm pretty sure the Falken comes with a mileage warranty of around 50-60k but I've been out of the game for 7 months now so I don't recall.
Old 12-08-2010, 07:34 PM