1st & 2nd Generation Maxima (1981-1984 and 1985-1988) Learn more and share information about the 1st and 2nd Generation Maximas.

Timing belt. Is it really that hard?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2007, 05:45 AM

Timing belt. Is it really that hard?

It's time for a timing belt change. I called about 20 local shops. about 8 said they wouldn't touch it, then the other 12 gave me quotes of $500 to $1200. Most seemed to be quoting labor out of the book, saying it was a 9 hour job. I decided to do it myself.

I only worked on it for 2 hours last night, and managed to get all of the belts off and the coolant drained out. At the rate I'm going, I'm thinking 6 or 7 hours, and I've never done this before.
Old 09-19-2007, 12:26 PM

yea they take a bit of time and thats just getting to it and putting it back together I don't remember how long it took me to do it on my 87 SE but it was a day project. it wouldn't be a bad idea to put a new water pump in while your that far into it unless you know that it's been done recently
Old 09-19-2007, 04:25 PM

I'm changing everything out. All 3 seals, water pump, tensioner and all of the belts. I can maybe see 9 hours for somebody that has never done it before and has a hard time reading a manual. There's absolutely no way it should take a mechanic 9 hours. Not even 7.

The car sat for 7+ years. That's the main reason for changing everything out.
Old 09-19-2007, 04:40 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

It's not that hard, just time consuming. Make sure you keep track of where everything went. You''ll need to take off the R/F wheel to get to the crank pulley. Use an impact gun to get the bolt off. Once it's off, you can gently tap around the edges of the crank pulley to get it off. You don't need a puller.

While you're at it and the radiator is empty, maybe you should take a look at the hoses and replace any suspect ones.
Old 09-19-2007, 07:52 PM
2nd Gen Boostinator