3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Help with springs and shocks...

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2002, 03:47 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Help with springs and shocks...

Hi guys. I’m new to boards and am hoping that you all can help me out.

I drive a 02 Subaru WRX and have recently been moding my car a bit. My wife has been getting on my case and tells me that now she wants me to do some stuff to her car. (Gotta love her for that )

Her 92 Maxima is pretty much stock, and rides like a boat. I was looking to get her some new springs and shocks to firm up the ride.

She’s not an aggressive driver (I take care of all that) so I don’t need any “race quality” parts.

Any recommendations on some decent spring and shock combos?

I checked out the prices at www.shox.com and got these…

Shocks:
Koni's are $520.80
Tokico's are $309.00
KYB's $177.00
Sachs $199.00

Springs:
Eibach pro-kit $219.00 lowers 1.2"
B&G springs $179.00 lowers 1.6"

Do those look like good prices? Are there any other brands any of you would recommend?

I was going to try and stay in the realm of $300-$400 for the entire setup, so perhaps the KYBs and B&Gs, although I’m not thrilled about dropping the car 1.6 inches (I know, I’m a prude)

TIA for all the advice… and if you see a little blue wagon behind you… get out of the way (Don't flame me for that... just trying to have some fun )

Thanks again!
Old 08-19-2002, 04:19 PM
Eagles Fan 4 Lyfe

Trust me...for your wife Eibach's will be the way to go. I used to have them and they are the closest to stock ride quality an aftermarket spring can get. I'm now on Intrax and I bet your wife would hate the ride. Anyone (including my girl) that gets in my car complains about the roughness Anyway for pics of my car on eibachs and intrax check out my site http://maxima.cardomain.com/id/chris91se

I have driven a 3rd gen with ST's (1.5") drop but wasn't satisfied in any aspect of the ride and the drop is uneven etc.