3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

HI all, i new here so i need a little help.

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2003, 12:27 AM

HI all, i new here so i need a little help.

My mom just gave me her 1990 max and i couldn't be anymore happier.
I have a couple of problems and i wanted to know if it is a problem.

1)This car eats a lot of gas. I get about 100 city miles before i have to refill. Is this normal?

2)When i stop or start the car i get a really strong gas smell, is this also normal?

3)The engine doesn't sound strong and fit anymore. It would have the nice engine noise but it whould also have this chee chee chee old car engine noise. I hope you know what i mean.

Ok i am a complet newbie but i am willing to learn. Any info would be appriciated.

1990 max with 104000 miles

Oh yeah, where should i check for problems? How much would it be?
Old 06-19-2003, 02:23 AM

Re: HI all, i new here so i need a little help.

hi there and welcome to the org.

1. That is NOT normal. you should be getting between 280 and 380 in city on a full tank. First things to do are to get a tuneup (plugs, plug cables, distibutor, fuel filter, etc)

2. might be leaking gas somewhere which might be the cause of #1 above. Places to check are underneath the car for ANY leaks at all, as well as behind the back seat for rust (search for maxima recalls to see if you have that problem) Do this check before starting and immediately after starting in case you can actually see it dripping.

3. Don't know what you mean by chee chee chee, but the fact that you can hear it's not running right is a good thing. Take it to someone you know and trust and have them tell you what the sound is and what the problem is.